I move, and I briefly look back

Wednesday, June 29th was my last day in Brooklyn.

Taly and I, without too much trouble, moved my things into a U-Haul truck and back to my parents’ house, where they will remain until we return from Israel.  The move went remarkably well, especially given myriad potential problems flitting through my mind during the preceding week.  The only real hurdle was parking the truck outside my apartment, a momentous task given my parallel parking deficiency, rude drivers fighting for spots, and all the traffic outside the hospital across the street.  Luckily, Taly fought tooth and nail for a spot, and in the end we had a large enough space it didn’t matter my parking is so poor that I left the truck’s back wheel sticking out in the street.

Brooklyn sheltered me nicely for the last two years, but all the same I felt happy and relieved after the move. I was excited for a change, especially given that we will be back in New York for the foreseeable future after this year.  I share many of Taly’s frustrations, from a previous post, with NYC.  Still, I know I will miss many things about the city and especially Brooklyn, my favorite borough.  So before looking forward and while my memory is fresh, I’d liked to quickly look back on some of the two years in New York City.

New York can sometimes feel too crowded, grimy, and generally unpleasant.  I prefer to remember the city in the light of the beautiful days, and as a place unmatched in the variety of activities and locations.  I ran in Prospect Park everyday; during lunch breaks in Washington Square we could see television shows and movies filming; each weekend a different neighborhood tantalized our appetites for exploration.

Prospect Park was two blocks from my apartment, and it is easily my favorite place in all of NYC.  It is a great park for running–even in the winter, if I stayed on the plowed driveway areas.  Summer draws big crowds to the park, but we still found quiet places to sit and read.

View from our perch under a tree in the center of Prospect Park

When it was nice out, why not enjoy a sidewalk cafe or bar with someone you love?

Enjoying beers and books while we wait for our laundry.

Madison Ave might be crowded but we always found peaceful streets to wander, and we even caught a glorious day on the High Line.

A street made for meandering....

The High Line

Because it is so crowded New York is the best place for people watching!  Taly always protected me from the stranger folks we encountered.

Put your dukes up!

NYC can be intimidating because of its size and because streets are laid out in different ways in different neighborhoods.  So, navigation is important.  Luckily, I have a homing pigeon-like sense of direction, and I constantly guided us in the right direction.

Human GPS

You may notice I didn’t discuss the wonderful food NYC offers.  This wasn’t because I lack for taste and ate only microwavable burritos and pop-tarts.  No, since the many different foods available was my favorite part of NYC (tied with Prospect Park), I decided it deserved a post all to itself.  So, coming soon: a short history of two years of culinary delights!

3 thoughts on “I move, and I briefly look back

  1. I don’t know about the High Line, Doug. Tell more. What surprises me about NYC is how much it seems to have changed since Mom and I went there on our honeymoon back in December of ’68. It’s cleaner and seems richer; am I right? Mom says she loves NYC which surprises me too.
    –From one of your country-ensconced relatives of the less-traveled orientation.
    Dad/Jack

  2. Doug and Taly,
    I love the pictures. A bit more on your internal GPS, Doug. We knew you had it when you, from your carseat, that’s how little you were, helped me figure out how to get to Winsted.
    A.M.A.Z.I.N.G.
    M.

Leave a Reply

