Aspiring to a fortune

Lately, I’ve found myself aspiring to a fortune.  Not the hit-the-lotto or strike-it-rich-in-some-similarly-effortless-way fortune (although I’d be more than happy with that, too), but the type found in a cookie.

On a recent outing with my dad to a Thai restaurant, I sat at a table scattered with fortune cookies.  Alongside three empty wrappers and discarded fortunes sat seven unopened cookies.  My dad, who thinks they’re a tasty pre- and post-meal treat, had indiscriminately selected his appetizers without giving a second glance to the fortunes they contained.  I saved my cookie devouring for after the meal, though, grabbing the nearest fortune cookie once I finished eating.

While I know each fortune probably exists in hundreds of thousands of cookies and that little thought goes into writing the sometimes-cryptic messages, I couldn’t help but smile as I munched on my cookie and read my fortune.

Although my life may not be a “dashing and bold adventure” at this particular moment, I’m hoping it will be soon enough.  With our plane tickets purchased, I can start officially counting down the days until our adventures abroad begin.

49 days and counting!

One thought on “Aspiring to a fortune

  1. As we loved to say after many reads and re-reads of one of our favorite books–Where the Wild Things Are*–Let the Wild Rumpus Begin!
    Patty
    *And when he came to the place where the wild things are
    they roared their terrible roars and gnashed their terrible teeth
    and rolled their terrible eyes and showed their terrible claws
    till Max said “BE STILL!”
    and tamed them with the magic trick
    of staring into all their yellow eyes without blinking once
    and they were frightened and called him the most wild thing of all
    and made him king of all wild things
    “And now,” cried Max, “let the wild rumpus start!”

Leave a Reply

