The game stays the game…

If you’ve met Taly or me, then you have probably heard how much we love ‘The Wire.’  I believe it is the greatest American television show ever.  I even wrote two papers about it during my senior year of college.  In addition to its entertainment value, the show is a striking social commentary about the modern American city.

When I found a video of the 100 best lines in ‘The Wire,’ I knew I needed to share it.

For those of you who haven’t seen the show yet, you might not want to watch the clip.  Instead, you should get off the computer, go buy all five seasons of ‘The Wire,’ and lock yourself up with Omar, Stringer, Avon, Jimmy, Bunk, Lester, and the rest of the gang, for the next 2 months!  Then come back and watch the clip.

Everyone else, sit back and relive the greatness that is ‘The Wire.’

Enjoy!

3 thoughts on “The game stays the game…

  1. I’m saving this for when Dad gets home so we can relive the fun (hmmmm, fun?) of watching these scenes. You’re right, Doug. This is a great series. The Best. I wish I’d described it the way Slate’s Jacob Weisberg did, so here’s his quote: “…no other program has ever done anything remotely like what this one does, namely to portray the social, political, and economic life of an American city with the scope, observational precision, and moral vision of great literature…”
    Mom/Patty

Leave a Reply

