Mama’s Borekas

Mama’s Borekas
★ ★ ★ ☆ ☆
Borekas
Not Kosher
16 King George
03-525-1111
Open 24-7

With the days of my grandmother’s homemade borekas recently behind us, I can’t help but think of our singular borekas outing in Israel.  While the borekas absolutely does not compare with my grandmother’s, it could certainly do in a pinch.

A mound of my grandmother’s DELICIOUS homemade borekas

Mama’s Borekas

Mama’s Borekas is open 24-7 and I could have actually imagined myself going a lot more often, if my grandmother hadn’t spoiled us with her delicious borekas.

We ordered a potato mushroom borekas, which was quite heavy, but in a nice, filling sort of way.  The potato filling was well cooked, creamy, and perfectly proportioned.  The accompanying tomato sauce was cool, giving a nice light touch to the starchy treat.  The dough flaky and, while just a bit too oily, not overwhelmingly so.  All in all, quite a satisfying treat.

Potato and mushroom borekas

The cheese and olives borekas was also quite tasty.  Filled with salty Bulgarian cheese and olives, it had a sharper flavor than the potato borekas.

Cheese and olive borekas

Each dish came with an assortment of sides, including the tomato sauce, tahini, some pickles, and an egg.  It was perfectly filling and, at 21 shekels, doesn’t break the bank for a late-night snack.  For 32 shekels, they throw in a 1/3L of beer; for 35 shekels, a 1/2L of beer.

Mama’s Borekas

If you’re looking for some variety, they also serve malawach and jachnoon.

2 thoughts on “Mama’s Borekas

  1. In Israel I learned that I like the taste of salty cheese and olives. This is a hint at the provincial eating life I’ve lead thus far. It tickles me that I am able to try new tastes and like them. Great pictures, Taly.
    Patty

Leave a Reply

